A Friend Has Been Spotted In SE Kansas!!!!!

image

I just thought I’d share this …….  A river, the Neosho, basically half circumferences the town I live in.  Over the last couple of years a most unlikely sight has been seen!  The eagle above.  Not only that eagle, but, it’s mate!  (sorry I can’t tell if this is a male or female) but, the caption by this pic was “The eaglets have fledged, adult taking it easy this morning.”

We used to never see these beautiful creatures in Kansas. 

I’ll try to get more pics of this and his/her family.  Indeed, I’ll try to take some pics of the habitat!  A bald eagle soaring over it is breathtaking! 

My thanks to Karen Boehner for this pic I got from FB. 

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Friend Has Been Spotted In SE Kansas!!!!!

  1. Latitude says:

    You should have asked!……I would be more than happy to send you tons of them…….out of my friggin back yard!!
    All kidding aside…that is great news for you guys!

  2. We get Balds occasionally. Last year, one was hanging around to feed on a deer carcass near the the trailheads, a few hundred yards from my house.

  3. philjourdan says:

    We have many nesting pairs along the river that runs through the area. But that was not the case when I was a lot younger. They are coming back

  4. cdquarles says:

    I have not seen any Bald Eagles around here. A few Golden’s, yes.

    • philjourdan says:

      Probably the climate. We do not have Golden ones up here (of if we do, very few). In the 70s, they could count the number of nesting pairs in the Chesapeake watershed. Now? There are too many to get an accurate count.

  5. Me says:

    Bald Eagles go where the they want to! They represent freedom and strength as an apex predator!

Leave a Reply

