Voting, The Flag, and Patriotism!!!!

Well, while everyone else has opined, I thought I’d throw in my two cents. 

image

It’s sad to watch a former prima-donna try to be semi-relevant, again.  For those who don’t know, some nearly former NFL QB refused to stand for the US national anthem.  Poor Kolin seems confused at to what the flag represents.

But, that’s common among the young people today.  They don’t seem to understand the distinction between rights, obligations, and things you should do.

You know, for years now, every election time which comes around, I encourage people not to vote if they are uniformed on the issues.  Voting is a right, not an obligation.  Nor, is it, something you should do if you are uninformed. 

Mike Rowe, of “Dirtiest Jobs” fame seems to have articulated the idea I’ve been trying to convey.  (My bold)

Jeremy Schneider writes…

Hey Mike, I have nothing but respect for you. Your no-nonsense outlook and incredible eloquence have really had a profound impact in my life. Can you please encourage your huge following to go out and vote this election? I would never impose on you by asking you to advocate one politician over another, but I do feel this election could really use your help. I know that there are many people out there who feel like there is nothing they can do. Please try to use your gifts to make them see that they can do something – that their vote counts.

Hi Jeremy

Thanks for the kind words. I appreciate it. I also share your concern for our country, and agree wholeheartedly that every vote counts. However, I’m afraid I can’t encourage millions of people whom I’ve never met to just run out and cast a ballot, simply because they have the right to vote. That would be like encouraging everyone to buy an AR-15, simply because they have the right to bear arms. I would need to know a few things about them before offering that kind of encouragement. For instance, do they know how to care for a weapon? Can they afford the cost of the weapon? Do they have a history of violence? Are they mentally stable? In short, are they responsible citizens?

Casting a ballot is not so different. It’s an important right that we all share, and one that impacts our society in dramatic fashion. But it’s one thing to respect and acknowledge our collective rights, and quite another thing to affirmatively encourage people I’ve never met to exercise them. And yet, my friends in Hollywood do that very thing, and they’re at it again.

Every four years, celebrities and movie stars look earnestly into the camera and tell the country to “get out and vote.” They tell us it’s our “most important civic duty,” and they speak as if the very act of casting a ballot is more important than the outcome of the election. This strikes me as somewhat hysterical. Does anyone actually believe that Leonardo DiCaprio, Ellen DeGeneres, and Ed Norton would encourage the “masses” to vote, if they believed the “masses” would elect Donald Trump?

Regardless of their political agenda, my celebrity pals are fundamentally mistaken about our “civic duty” to vote. There is simply no such thing. Voting is a right, not a duty, and not a moral obligation. Like all rights, the right to vote comes with some responsibilities, but lets face it – the bar is not set very high. If you believe aliens from another planet walk among us, you are welcome at the polls. If you believe the world is flat, and the moon landing was completely staged, you are invited to cast a ballot. Astrologists, racists, ghost-hunters, sexists, and people who rely upon a Magic 8 Ball to determine their daily wardrobe are all allowed to participate. In fact, and to your point, they’re encouraged.

The undeniable reality is this: our right to vote does not require any understanding of current events, or any awareness of how our government works. So, when a celebrity reminds the country that “everybody’s vote counts,” they are absolutely correct. But when they tell us that “everybody in the country should get out there and vote,” regardless of what they think or believe, I gotta wonder what they’re smoking.

Look at our current candidates. No one appears to like either one of them. Their approval ratings are at record lows. It’s not about who you like more, it’s about who you hate less. Sure, we can blame the media, the system, and the candidates themselves, but let’s be honest – Donald and Hillary are there because we put them there. The electorate has tolerated the intolerable. We’ve treated this entire process like the final episode of American Idol. What did we expect?

So no, Jeremy – I can’t personally encourage everyone in the country to run out and vote. I wouldn’t do it, even if I thought it would benefit my personal choice. Because the truth is, the country doesn’t need voters who have to be cajoled, enticed, or persuaded to cast a ballot. We need voters who wish to participate in the process. So if you really want me to say something political, how about this – read more.

Spend a few hours every week studying American history, human nature, and economic theory. Start with “Economics in One Lesson.” Then try Keynes. Then Hayek. Then Marx. Then Hegel. Develop a worldview that you can articulate as well as defend. Test your theory with people who disagree with you. Debate. Argue. Adjust your philosophy as necessary. Then, when the next election comes around, cast a vote for the candidate whose worldview seems most in line with your own.

Or, don’t. None of the freedoms spelled out in our Constitution were put there so people could cast uninformed ballots out of some misplaced sense of civic duty brought on by a celebrity guilt-trip. The right to assemble, to protest, to speak freely – these rights were included to help assure that the best ideas and the best candidates would emerge from the most transparent process possible.

Remember – there’s nothing virtuous or patriotic about voting just for the sake of voting, and the next time someone tells you otherwise, do me a favor – ask them who they’re voting for. Then tell them you’re voting for their opponent. Then, see if they’ll give you a ride to the polls.

In the meantime, dig into “Economics in One Lesson,” by Henry Hazlitt. It sounds like a snooze but it really is a page turner, and you can download it for free.

Mike

Voting is a right in which you should exercise only after informing yourself.  So, too, is it a right to sit while our national anthem is played, and the flag is raised.  It’s your right.  As an American, I can see no purpose in exercising such right. 

The flag, the national anthem, are an expression of an idea, a notion that with sacrifice and diligence, a nation of  free people can govern themselves. 

In the particular case of Kapernick, or with any other whiner about police violence against Black people, when I read about how many more White people are killed by police, it’s hard for me to coalesce around your particular cause.  But, it’s impossible for me to do so as I see these people disparage the idea of this nation. 

I once read an idiotic passage in an article about the BLM lunatics, calling for policing to become more local.  There isn’t a national police force, per se.  The general policing of the people occurs at the local level!  The people, dumbasses like Kapernick are crying about, are employed at the city or county level!  Putting it another way …….. the actions of your local police force is a direct reflection of your voting and voting habits. 

This weekend, in fact, I had an occasion to talk to an old school chum of mine.  He informed me that he went to Ferguson when the riots were happening.  He informed me about how racist the police force was there.  I didn’t really have a chance to respond, in that my daughter was present …….  I’m trying to show her a different form of argument, but, she’s one to skip the informative stage and simply declare the moron a moron.  But, had I a chance to speak before my old chum quickly changed the subject, I would have laughed and told him it was the people in Ferguson’s fault.  I didn’t vote for the local government in Ferguson, the people in Ferguson did.  Just like I didn’t have anything to do with Milwaukee or Baltimore or, Chicago ……..  I had nothing to do with hiring the cops there.  Their community did.  Ferguson is a place which is about 80% Black.  They have the police force they put in place there.  They have the police force they maintain there.  If they don’t like the way it’s done, they have the right, guaranteed by this nation, which is represented by our flag, and by our national anthem, to change it!  Instead of bitching about it, inform yourself, and then come to a rational and reasonable notion as to how to make it better.  As that was the whole notion of self-governance to begin with.  Idiots! 

And, yet, there are people who would disparage an entire nation of people for their own failures, their own lack of sacrifice, their own lack of diligence, their own lack of self-informing …… all of which our founding fathers knew and told us was necessary for this idea to prosper. 

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Voting, The Flag, and Patriotism!!!!

  1. Latitude says:

    I thought I’d throw in my two cents….

    I’ve been waiting on you! LOL I was dying to get your take on this, and it’s excellent.

  2. Latitude says:

    Biracial, adopted and raised by a white family……stop me when this sounds familiar

    I am sick and tired of hearing incredibly wealthy successful people…bitch about how oppressed other people are that have that same skin color…
    And black music artists preach about violence towards blacks….when their music and lyrics have endorsed and encouraged the very behavior that encourages it

    They are pathetic….trying to be edgie, new, hip, relevant..and look like idiots

    In July 2016, Kaepernick converted to Islam during the offseason AND he is engaged to Nessa Diab, a Black Lives Matter activist who promotes what she calls “authentic Islam.” The Kaepernick’s will also have a traditional Muslim wedding.

    https://conservativedailypost.com/colin-kaepernick-converted-to-islam-before-his-anti-american-stance-coincidence/

  3. One of the problems with being on the voting registry, is that you are periodically called upon to serve on a jury. I hate that job and unlike our voting right, I can’t just say “No thanks,” when the summons shows up. I was lucky this time because they didn’t need my service. I did get the token $10 for one day service plus travel. I’m rich!! (Notice that government doesn’t have to pay minimum wage.)

    Jim

    • suyts says:

      In Kansas, they changed it to driver registration …….. I’ve still never been called upon.

      • Scott says:

        I’ve gotten the call but never had to go in when the day came. I think the deal was sealed that I’ll never have to do that when I got m Ph.D.–I hear they’re afraid of people being “too smart”…because being “smart” is a bad thing when evaluating the truth?!?!?!?

        -Scott

        • cdquarles says:

          I’ve been called for jury duty. I’ve been a plaintiff, a defendant and an expert witness. Our legal system is dysfunctional. Of lawyers, by lawyers, for lawyers; sad to say; and if the parties do get justice, they need to thank God that the process worked correctly.

          Heck no they didn’t let me on a jury. You see, I’d make them present the evidence and not get away with drawing a vast conclusion from a half-vast presentation. I had to take the day off work, potentially, just to go and no, I was not compensated; but then, I wasn’t working for the government as such. I was just doing my duty as a citizen; but was too smart to be baffled by legal theatrics.

        • philjourdan says:

          In this location, we are notified we are on call, and then when it is time, they call you. I was “on call” once, but never called. So they do not know if I am smart or a liberal.

    • leftinflagstaff says:

      I was called in Boston, and similarly ended up not being needed. Sat waiting for a few hours, went home. In NYC, called in, and continued thru to the jury selection process. Turned out the case involved a vehicle/ pedestrian accident. I had been hit and run a few months prior, so excused myself on possible conflict of interest.

  4. philjourdan says:

    Kapernick is a non story. But the same people that tell you it is your “civil duty” to vote are the ones trying to make it a story. Everyone has the right to be an idiot. No one has the right to have his idiocy broadcast.

  5. Rowe is one wise dude. But, it’s more than just being informed, it’s accepting the reality of the information. For one candidate, the voters seeing that reality is leading to their low approval ratings. For the other, it’s the voters not seeing it. They believe it’s all BS. Could be. But still only one is campaigning based on reality. Rejecting that, can only be based on belief, not information.

  6. Lab Guy says:

    If anyone reads on the history of the US, voting is not an actual right listed in the Constitution. That came about far later. Personally, I think voting should be limited to property owning males since we have a system where the government can seize property for not paying taxes on it.

    Mike Rowe should have also added that when you vote, don’t forget you are forcing others who disagree to do something they dislike under the threat of government sanctioned violence.

    Though I think Colin is an ass, I don’t get excited about this flag crap myself. I’m more concerned the 4 million plus federal bureaucrats who are not elected and not scrutinized in any significant manner. Nothing Constitutional about most of the federal government. Don’t forget the millions of bureaucrats who enforced city, county, and state laws.

  7. gator69 says:

    Newsflash: The police in Ferguson were and are no more racist than police anywhere else in the US. The statistics used to portray them as such do not account for the fact that blacks commit crimes at higher rates than all other races, and do not take into account the demographics of Ferguson versus other areas. Math is not racist.

    Now on to Colin Kaepernick. It is being reported that he converted to Islam and, is engaged to Nessa Diab, a Black Lives Matter activist who promotes what she calls “authentic Islam.” The Kaepernick’s will also have a traditional Muslim wedding.

    So he likely has no issue lining up when the adhan is called out by a muezzin from the mosque five times a day. ‘Cause there’s no oppression under Islam dontcha ya know.

  8. Trump’s coming to Everett tonight. It’ll mess up our Taco Tuesday at the Elks. It’s interesting that he’s coming here, becasue 1984 was the last time The People’s Republic of Washington State voted for a Republican president. Trump needs to flip some of Hillary’s states like Pennsylvania. Last time I looked, Hillary still has 272 electoral votes–that’s all she needs.

    I noticed the stock market is predicting a Hillary landslide and the Senate flipping to the Democrats. That’ll ruin the SCOTUS for decades. Maybe they should confirm Obama’s nomination of Garland now.

    Jim

    • DirkH says:

      “I noticed the stock market is predicting a Hillary landslide”

      The stock “market” is a function of Western Central Bank asset gathering.
      Since start of 2016, bonds, stocks and Gold are positively correlated. This has never happened before. The stock “market” has therefore no predictive value for anything. When the Fed watches the stock market to have a source of information, all they get is a signal that they themselves manipulate.

      If Stocks bonds AND Gold rise synchronously you could just as well say: They’re doing NOTHING while all Western currencies are dropping like a stone. In unison.

      • DirkH says:

        And WHY do the USD, the Yen and the Euro drop in unison? Because they are poisoned. Interest rates are the price of money. When you set the interest rate to negative, it means you declare the value of money to be NOTHING.

        Now: It still buys something, sure. But, for investment purposes: Everyone tries to avoid gathering currency – it is POISONED – therefore bonds, Gold AND stocks are gathered like mad AT tHE SAME TIME. – driving down interest rates further. A positive feedback, which will inevitably hit the wall sooner rather than later.

        All that the stock market predicts is therefore the rapid approachment of that wall.

        • DirkH says:

          Worse: Basel rules require banks to have so and so much capital – yet they are punished through ZIRP for owning capital. Basically the system forces the banks now to swallow poison. I guess that will turn out well…

      • Dirk, have you ever read, “None Dare Call It Conspiracy” by Gary Allen and Larry Abraham? Those authors’ discussion of bank conspiracies by the Bilderbergers, Rockerfellers, and Rothschilds sound like you.

        Jim

        • DirkH says:

          Didn’t read it, heard of it, and I found the testament of one Cecil Rhodes in which he demands a secret society be instituted to achieve a world government. BTW Rhodes was financed by the Rothschilds. Yes I do have an interest in history.

          BTW. You mention “conspiracy”. See, the Western Central Banks (to which the BOJ belongs) chairmen *DO* conspire bi-monthly in a room in the highest story of the BIS building in Basel. Which is about 300 km to the West of where I am now.

          What did you think? That they don’t meet in person? Did you think the BOJ started its Abenomics moneyprinting EXACTLY when the FED stopped QE was a COINCIDENCE?

        • DirkH says:

          If that wasn’t clear: Cecil Rhodes’ testament is online.

        • DirkH says:

          For all intents and purposes, the Fed, the BOJ and the ECB act orchestrated to inflate the money supply of the Western empire. For political and currency exchange rate reasons they switch roles from time to time. For instance the BOJ might stop QE tomorrow and the FED will pick up the ball. Yen+Euro+USD = one big money supply.

        • DirkH says:

          ANd if that is not clear: The QE programs are not just moneyprinting and handing it over to the government. No it is “sterilized”, meaning, they print money and BUY something with it. Where: The Fed buys treasuries. The BOJ buys Japanese bonds and now ponders to also buy US treasuries – as they run out of Japanese bonds to buy! The ECB buys European state debt and now also company debt.
          Israel and Swiss central banks buy stocks.

          And that of course manipulates the bond and stock markets. That central banks hold Gold and buy and sell it is even older, as holding Gold used to be their ONLY role.

        • Not to mention the CFR and the Trilateral Commission (I guess I touched one of your hot buttons.)

          On the Gary Allen book, I’m not sure I buy into all the conspiracies, but I do like their correction to the political spectrum (http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=political+spectrum++Gary+allen&view=detailv2&&id=B377324950874D39EE47C9F9B6E2E7FF9D02FA2B&selectedIndex=2&ccid=umVmndef&simid=607995777720258180&thid=OIP.Mba65669dd79fb15e81b688464498f6a9o0)

          Jim

        • DirkH says:

          “Not to mention the CFR and the Trilateral Commission (I guess I touched one of your hot buttons.)”

          CFR is the US roundtable group founded by Milner, the person who enacted Rhodes’ will. UK has Oxford Roundtable; Europe the Bilderbergers. The roundtable groups ARE the “secret society” envisioned by Rhodes.

          I have written so many comments not because you touched a hot button but because I have to assume that the reader doesn’t know anything about the currencies and the central banks of the West. I’ll republish this diatribe on my blog eventually.

      • suyts says:

        Since start of 2016, bonds, stocks and Gold are positively correlated. This has never happened before. The stock “market” has therefore no predictive value for anything. When the Fed watches the stock market to have a source of information, all they get is a signal that they themselves manipulate.

        100% agree

    • The Seattle news is flabbergasted at the crowds waiting to see Trump tonight. Lat is right–Trump’s crowds are huge. They also said the polls are narrowing. That’s saying a lot for the Democrat news media up here.

      Jim

Leave a Reply

