Kenny Rogers Retiring!!!

Well, I didn’t know he wasn’t retired. 

Kenny Rogers announces his retirement

Kenny Rogers has revealed that he will retire but the country music legend will give his fans one final tour before he walks away.

The 77-year-old country icon announced his intention to retire during an appearance on “The Today Show” Friday morning. “It’s happily sad or sadly happy,” he says. “I’m going to do a big worldwide tour, and it’s going to be my last. I’m going to say goodbye at that point; I’ve done this long enough.”

Rogers was on hand to promote his new Christmas album, “Once Again It’s Christmas,” and he says that he wants to devote more time to his life outside of music. “I wrote in my book that there’s a fine line between being driven and being selfish, and I think I crossed that line when I was younger,” he explains. “And I really want to be there with my kids and my wife. They’re really very important to me, and I don’t see enough of them.” Rogers and his wife have 11-year-old twin sons, Jordan and Justin. ……

Well, he was a great singer and a great entertainer.  There are too many songs to pick from to adequately demonstrate his talent.   But, here are a couple of my favs!

 

 

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kenny Rogers Retiring!!!

  1. gator69 says:

    Twins at 66! That’s impressive.

    • I. Lou Minotti says:

      What a terrific American musical and cultural icon. Hopefully, his “twins at 66” didn’t come about as a side benefit to being the Wichita Lineman ;-). Abraham and Sarah don’t need modern-day competition.

  2. Lars P. says:

    Uh, oh, waiting to see when this is going to be blamed on global warming: giant sinkhole “eats” cars and tents in Australia camp in Queensland:

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/world/australia/72452439/Giant-sinkhole-swallows-vehicles-at-Queensland-camp-ground?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Leave a Reply

