Nickelback!!!!! And Open Thread!

Well, this is for Mrs. Suyts.  She’s had a horrible song stuck in her head for days!  I had promised to play some music to get it out of her head, but, neglected to do so.  She likes Nickelback, so ….

It’s an interesting band.  Their lyrics are pretty racy, but, sometimes pretty clever. 

It’s a nice distraction from the world going to hell in a hand-basket.  I didn’t want to post the cliché Nickelback songs, but, any Nickelback fan will easily recognize these songs.  

 

Okay, I’ve altered the original post.  Originally, I had “I’d come for you” in the second vid, but, upon retrospect, this song is better here. 

It’s interesting that Nickelback describes heaven, imagining the world as it will be!

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nickelback!!!!! And Open Thread!

  1. I. Lou Minotti says:

    Your reference to a band describing Heaven brings to mind another band describing our world before Jesus returns to set up His millennial reign over sinful (albeit saved by faith alone in Christ alone) idiots like me. Collective Soul nailed it back in 1998:

    • suyts says:

      That’s a great song!!! I haven’t heard it in years! Thanks! Lou, welcome back, it’s been a while!

      • I. Lou Minotti says:

        I’m still around. Reading nowadays much more than posting, however. Wisdom, perhaps? Lord bless you, brother, Miss JSue, & yours. Keep up the good work. Ecclesiastes 1:18.

      • suyts says:

        Wisdom is a hard thing. The more you have it, the more you know you don’t have it. It’s good to hear from you.

    • gator69 says:

      Good pick Lou! And I’m also glad to hear from you, it’s been too long.

      This has to be one of my favorite Collective soul performances, and after losing my father it took on a whole new depth.

      • I. Lou Minotti says:

        I love Collective Soul. While Ed Roland has claimed that “we’re not a Christian band,” they’re definitely a Christian band–but of the kick-ass variety. In much the same way Reggie White was not a kick-ass Christian defensive end for the Philadelphia Eagles.

        Listen to their lyrics. The lyrics of any song defines the genre of music that’s being produced. The rhythm and musicality is secondary. Read David’s Psalms for lyrics of praise to Our Lord, which are actually prayers to his Savior and our’s that were set to the music of their day. Most of them are absolutely kick-ass. The Psalms are a hymnbook in which David concludes, “the prayers of David the son of Jesse have ended” (Ps. 72:20).

        But to prove that rhythm and musicality are needed in any song (since the music carries the lyrics in an approved manner to the listener, and the drummer is the timekeeper that keeps it all together), allow me to share a video of a great percussionist that was lost to America after he left what I believe is America’s greatest secular band. He’s probably one of America’s greatest drummers. Notice the left-hand leads, steady right-hand triplets, speed, and double bass footwork all combined. Notice also the lyrics of the song he’s leading. It’s called “Redemption.” And that only comes from one place. For drummers or anyone else.

        • I. Lou Minotti says:

          Wrong video. My bad. Here’s the one I wanted to reference:

        • Me says:

          Her is a good one that ya never seen comming. right pastor Lou and Gator?

        • I. Lou Minotti says:

          Thanks for feeling free to add to the conversation you didn’t initiate by posting a video of a drug-addled, flame-out, one-hit-wonder female “musician.” You always seem to know when to chime in. That’s wisdom on your part, I’m sure.

          Here’s the good stuff:

      • I. Lou Minotti says:

        Gator, I’m sorry to learn that your dad passed. Most folks anymore are not afforded a reason to brag about their fathers. Your’s will wear a crown in our Savior’s Kingdom. A tough, knowledgeable and godly man, I’m fairly certain, based upon your testimony here and elsewhere. Sad stuff, but good stuff at the same time. Keep your head up, brother.

  2. Lars P. says:

    Interesting, I saw several disparate posts which start to give a similar picture. Slowly more data accumulates showing a cooling trend. We have now Ireland:
    http://notrickszone.com/2015/09/12/ireland-sees-coldest-summer-in-30-years-north-atlantic-scandinavia-northern-russia-endure-frigid-summer/
    There has been Scotland with the snow staying over summer and those impressive snow tunnels. I think I saw a similar post about Norway. Now again – Ireland, Scandinavia, Northern Russia.
    I think this is a development to keep an eye on, potentially we see another cooling trend like in the ’70s starting.

  3. Lars P. says:

    Drones and cyberhawks – better train a hawk to save your privacy 🙂 enjoy
    http://i.imgur.com/irqjHqT.gifv

    • DirkH says:

      Fantastic video! I once saw a hawk trainer in the Hannover Zoo playing with his hawks and eagles. Turmfalken, Golden Eagles amongst them. He let the Golden Eagle fly rounds over the audience’s heads. And demonstrated the speed of a Turmfalke, a small vicious beast.

  4. I. Lou Minotti says:

    For some reason, this post about Nickleback has haunted me since James posted it last Friday. A song has been banging around in my head since then, and after reviewing a few of my old Wayne Watson CDs from the late eighties, I found the reason why! Go full screen, turn up the bass and the volume, and relish how Our Lord will never let us go:

Leave a Reply

