Gems 2015 — September 17 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 28

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

September 17 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 28

Food for Thought: Prov. 28:5

You can talk and talk to godless people till the cows come home to change their way of thinking, but in their current state, they will never understand the truest concepts of justice* (though it is quite possible for a lost person to be influenced by godly people and adopt much of their way of life). They simply do not have the tools with which to deeply comprehend justice. And sadly, that means their decisions and actions usually will not be based on what is right before God.

However, all is not lost nor hopeless. Anyone can change, but ONLY by the Spirit of God. So, for everyone who is trying to make a person change and stop having a godless attitude about what he/she considers “right”, you must begin at the beginning with him or her, not in the middle. It is useless to insist that the person suddenly have another opinion or way of life. He/she must first be born again and bear the Spirit of God within. Then the Spirit will lead him/her into all truth (John 16:13), and he/she will be able to understand all.

It is, however, a growth process. That is why it is SO MUCH better to instill in our children at a young age the truths of justice and continue discipling them as they grow. But even an adult can be born again and gain understanding of it. I Peter 2:1-3 says, “Therefore, laying aside all malice, all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and all evil speaking, as newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby, if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious.”

Much energy is wasted trying to convince people to do right instead of trying to show them how to be right. When they become new in Christ, their entire being and perspective are changed, and they are righteous and quite capable of understanding justice.

(*Note to my friends who read Gems translated into Spanish: The words justice and righteousness are usually translated using the same word, justicia. However, the distinction in English is that justice is defined as “equity; merited reward or punishment; administration of the law,” and usually as it relates to man’s relationship to others (and also God performing justice where man is concerned), whereas righteousness is “right-standing/position with God; rectitude”–which we understand from Scripture is our condition through Christ, not by our works, though it most certainly is influential in man’s behavior toward others.)

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Gems 2015 — September 17 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 28

  1. suyts says:

    Heh! It occurs to me that I don’t believe we ever told the readers here that you’re internationally syndicated!

    Jeanette has the Gems translated to Spanish (or do you now translate it yourself? Jeanette is fluent in Spanish) and is posted elsewhere. I don’t think I’ve ever had the link to where it gets posted.

    • jsue says:

      Well, a lady from the church in Cd. Victoria, Tamps., Mexico translates Gems for our church’s Facebook page. And then it is passed on, and on,… All the glory and honor goes to the Father, and the utter amazement (and surprise) is mine. It is far beyond anything I could have, or would have, done on my own.

  2. suyts says:

    Opps, forgot to add, great post, sis!

  3. Yes great, thank you.
    James 5:16
    The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.
    If you want to change a person way of thinking, PRAY!

  4. kim2ooo says:

    Reblogged this on Climate Ponderings and commented:
    +10

    • jsue says:

      WOW! How kind, Kim! Thanks!

      • kim2ooo says:

        Dear Mrs. A.

        Ummmm… let’s see if I can explain this.

        Albeit, I think of myself as basically kind and empathic / compassionate…. It is not out of kindness that I score a post. You consistently score high.

        Actually, I’m fairly brutal [ I think ]. 🙂

        I do appreciate you acknowledging my efforts.

        Have a blessed weekend.

        • jsue says:

          Yes, I think I understand, Kim. But the fact that you take the time to express such positive words is motive for my expression of gratitude. And though I really cannot take any credit for Gems and any good that comes out of it, I feel it is important to acknowledge your comments and that I am glad for your response. By the way, I can’t recall any brutality by you, especially directed toward me. Only kindness. And I truly appreciate your wishing me a blessed weekend (you know what I will be up to :)). Have a blessed weekend, too.

  5. DirkH says:

    “You can talk and talk to godless people till the cows come home to change their way of thinking, but in their current state, they will never understand the truest concepts of justice* (though it is quite possible for a lost person to be influenced by godly people and adopt much of their way of life).”

    The Western atheist tries to be more Christian than the Christian, claiming he arrived at his Christian behaviour without a basis of God Given Natural Rights – as there is no god he claims – but through his own intellectual reasoning – making up principles as he goes. BUT as the Western atheist LACKS a Messiah who died for his sins he adopts a pre-Messianic self-sacrification cult (e.g.: Warmunism; self-punishment by importation of Muslims to “help” them, proving the atheist’s self-worth by self-punishment) – without NOTICING as he lacks thousands of years of recorded experience (the Bible) knowledge!

    SO: We Christians are a few thousand years more advanced than todays Western Atheists – simply by knowing what was. He who does not know history is condemned to repeat it. The Western Atheists have regressed (while claiming they know better than we, at the same time falling into pre-Christianic self-sacrifice).

    • jsue says:

      Dirk, both examples (the atheist and Berlin) demonstrate the point of today’s devotional perfectly. How absurd and sad they both are.

      • DirkH says:

        I don’t think so at all. The escalating madness around me (in germany, in the EU) is a sure sign that the prevailing system is on its last legs. It’s fascinating to watch. I talk to many people, I can’t post all the mad things that happen, there are much much more. Wherever I go I seem to meet exactly the people that I need to meet. It is a magical time; a time of change.

Leave a Reply

