Gems 2015 — August 25 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 5

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

August 25 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 5

Food for Thought: Prov. 5:3-20

Well, the Lord has strongly warned mankind of the detriments of sexual immorality in various places in His Word. There are very severe consequences when people veer off the perfect plan that He has designed for us and cater to the demanding flesh. It’s not being a “fuddy-duddy” or a “Bible-thumper” or a “holier-than-thou” to call it sin and urge people not to fall into its trap. And it’s not being judgmental. Rather, it is love that compels us to advise people that immoral behavior is hurtful, damaging, and entirely unnecessary when the Lord has shown us a better way.

Lest some need reminded of the harm of illicit sex, let’s list some of them, beginning with the damage done in relationships. How many marriages have been destroyed because of people’s selfish behavior? How many children have had their lives turned upside-down (who often end up doing the same thing as adults)? What about the harm to one’s psyche when the person is used as an object by another (or is the one who uses another) instead of entering into a wholesome, mutually loving relationship? A damaged psyche affects even future “healthy” relationships.

The Lord did not create our bodies to handle exposure to multiple partners. Those who do so run very high risks for all kinds of sexually transmitted diseases (many incurable), cancer, and birth defects in the babies who are products of such encounters. Then one must also take into consideration the unwanted pregnancies and the life-altering impact that they have on the people involved, regardless of the decision made concerning what to do about it. Those consequences are too numerable to mention.

There is a reason why the Lord tells to avoid fornication, adultery, and any kind of sexual immorality (Eph. 5:3; I Cor. 6:18-20; Prov. 6:32-33; Prov. 7). It hurts. Maybe not at the time, but eventually it causes great harm. God has a better way. If only people would put aside their own fleshly desires and decide by faith to live the way God designed which brings about only good with none of the harmful ill-effects.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gems 2015 — August 25 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 5

  1. suyts says:

    Nice post, Sis! God’s instruction always have a practical purpose. We don’t often see them, but, the consequences are always manifested. Sexual immorality is one of the great examples of this. As you mentioned, STDs are a manifestation of going against God’s Word and Will. One can include AIDS and Hep B to the list, as well. As you mentioned there are other severe consequences to sexual immorality which lend to the reasons as why one shouldn’t engage in such behavior. Society, as a whole, suffers from the poor choices others make who disregard the instructions of God.

    • jsue says:

      Ruined lives…So very sad.

    • suyts says:

      Geran, this particular post is not the place to post these links …., or perhaps it is. Be that as it may, I will address this in one of the other places you’ve posted …….. Well, no, I’ll respond here, and the other places.

      Geran, you’ve brought up a question I struggled with in the past.

      I’ve known about this since about the time it happened. I got the information from a different blog, Climate Etc …. At that point, I don’t believe he’d ever posted at Suyts. Like you, I did warn other blogs in which he frequently commented, though I used private email.

      Then, one day, he commented on my blog. My first thought was to simply block him, without comment. But, I thought it would be better to explain why I was blocking him. I realized then, that I didn’t really know if this was the same Oliver Manuel. So, I endeavored to find out. I believe it highly likely it is.

      With a little digging, you can find out more about this issue. I accept the fact that many people would disagree with my inaction. However, my inaction is an action.

      There are two moral dilemmas in front of me …. well, three, actually. Two are related.

      As a society, we set rules in place, and people who violate said rules are subject to the punishment society sets. Now, the heinous crimes he was accused of are not the same as he pled guilty to. Does that mean he didn’t do the crimes he was accused of? No, but, it doesn’t mean he did, either. After a person serves their punishment, what then? I am attuned to the fact that this isn’t something as simple as burglary or something of that nature. But, it isn’t murder, either.

      As a blog owner, I’ve always felt comfortable with giving everyone a right to speak. I don’t care about the content (vile language excepted) of the words. The words are an expression of an idea. It doesn’t mean I agree with the ideas, it means someone was allowed to express them. Are all the thoughts of a person with horrid flaws entirely discredited without thought? For example, many regarded Napoleon as a horrid person. And, he probably was. But, his military tactics are still studied, today. We can gain value from bad people! Hitler is regarded by many as one of the most horrid people ever! I certainly agree that he was, but, his rise to power and his political ability should be studied on many levels. That said, Dr. Oliver has expressed some ideas I find implausible. But, then, I’m not the arbiter of thought, which is one of the aims of my blog, that is, to provoke thought. It’s a bit of a double edged sword, but, one I happily engage. Sure, my blog allows for some of the most idiotic thoughts. But, then, I get to, or, others such as yourself get to, offer reasoned arguments as to why the thoughts are idiotic!

      Then, there’s the third dilemma, and I can’t get around it. The other two I can easily argue against, just as easily as I argue for. (I’m very good at being the Devil’s advocate.) But, I’m not the Devil’s advocate. Light always defeats darkness. And, this is why I decided to respond to you here. I know what is in the print and forever retained in the INTERNET regarding Dr. Oliver. What I don’t know is what is still in his heart. And, regardless, he’s still welcomed here. Here’s why …..

      Assuming he was guilty of the crime he confessed to, if he has truly changed his ways and realizes the harm he’s done and paid retribution as our society has set, and believes in the God he has professed to, then, I say, ‘welcome back, let’s never go down that path again!’ But, most importantly, if he’s not truly contrite, and not a true believer, what would you have him reading? Reason.com?

      Don’t get me wrong. I’m not the end all of morality, I’m very flawed! But, the Word which we link to everyday, is not flawed, and is the end all of morality. Christ was called out about being among “sinners”. He answered, ‘where else would I be?’. It was that He was delivering a message to people who needed to hear it. If Oliver is a lost soul, how cool is it that he comes here, rather than I have to go there for him to see the Light? Or, if he’s a truly sorry person, and contrite and only wishes to help people see, well, I’m good with that. Or, what if he’s innocent of the charges brought against him in 2011 which date back to 1989?

      Geran, I don’t know if I’ve ever articulated this thought as I will here, but, my credo is this ….
      Let every man have his voice. Let reasoned men argue. Let God judge.

      • geran says:

        Sorry, but it is time to take a stand.

        If you cannot stand against such perversion, you need to re-check what you want to do with your life, including posting Bible scripture here. Endless words mean nothing when it is time to stand up for truth.

        You need to know about sociopaths. They thrive on people that won’t stand up to them. They want to flaunt their perversion in your face. They want you to fold.

        “Let every man have his voice.” ??? “Can’t we all just get along?”

        How about letting a molester babysit your young daughters, granddaughters, nieces, etc.?

        Let every man have his way….

        Perversion justifies everything it does.

        • suyts says:

          Geran, you didn’t read what I had to say, or, you chose not to understand it. I constantly post on sociopaths. I stand up to them. I let light upon them. I at no point in my comment suggested nor asked “can’t we all get along?” If you believed that my intent, then, you should re-read my comment.

          And, so, you have your say, in disagreement with me. So, I’ll ask you, what should be done? This is assuming you’re absolute in knowing that the person commenting is the person we’re referring to. And, you’re absolute in knowing the charges against him are true. And, you’re absolute there is no redemption for a heinous crime performed 26 years ago, after paying the debt society demanded.

          But, it goes beyond all of that, Geran. It is that I’m not afraid. Nor, should you be. Let’s assume the worst. Let’s say Oliver is what it may appear. Let’s say he attempts to use this blog as some sort of advocacy for the vile derangement. I wish he would! How many different, articulate ways can you imagine the people of this blog could refute the imagined advocacy? It’s the same reason why I invite, but, never see anymore, the people who advocate the global warming nonsense ….. the very same reason! The acts of depravity committed to the cause of global warming is no less worse than the acts of depravity attached to Oliver, except on a much larger scale. I’m not afraid to let them have their say. I’m not afraid because my arguments are better.

          That said, if I thought for one second Oliver was using this blog to advocate child molestation or facilitate it in any way, he’d be gone in a second. But, he has not over the time and occasions he’s commented here.

          So, Geran, I ask you, again, what would you do?

        • DirkH says:

          Wise words, James, Bravo!

        • geran says:

          I would take a stand for decency, rather than trying to write my way out of it.

        • suyts says:

          Okay. But, specifically, what would you have me do?

          Geran, I’ve given you my honest thoughts as best I can. I realize people would disagree. As I’ve stated, I’ve struggled with this question. I’ve stated my thoughts. I accept that I could be wrong. What different thing would you have me do and why? What increased positive and what decreased negative comes from doing something different?

          Geran, I honestly do appreciate you bringing this up. To date, you’re the only one who has brought this up, although, I can and do assume there are a few others familiar with this. Until now, there’s only been me to wrestle with this question. I wrestled with it for a long time. Suggest something different. Explain why that different is better. I’m not demanding, I’m just asking. I’m open, but, it has to be a better argument than I’ve presented. But, that should be of no surprise to any one who has ever read this blog.

          On this particular thread, let’s be mindful of the theme.

  2. The Word of God is alive and powerful!!!!
    Thank you for posting it everyday.
    Alfred

Leave a Reply

