Gems 2015 — August 21 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 1

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

August 21 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 1

Food for Thought: Prov. 1:5-7

Well, the truth is, we have not yet arrived, though we sometimes think we have. We can all still use the wisdom of others. There is still much to learn. And a man of understanding, regardless of his age and experience, will admit that and be available to still learn from others and, above all, from the Holy Spirit.

The Word warns us in several places to not think of ourselves as wise in our own opinion. As examples, Proverbs 3:7 says, “Do not be wise in your own eyes….” Romans 12:16 echoes the same: “…Do not be wise in your own opinion.” The way to avoid the trap of concluding that we are pretty smart and do not need anyone to tell us anything is to put God first and reverence Him in all your ways, always relying on His direction by the Holy Spirit. The Word promises that the Holy Spirit will “guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come (John 16:13).” Submitting to the Lord is the beginning of knowledge and wisdom for every aspect of our natural and spiritual life.

Then, as the Spirit leads, He may direct you to certain people, or them to you, so that they can share what they have learned with you. Our teachers may come directly from the Bible, or from something else we have read, seen, or heard, or from people we encounter personally. Regardless of how they come, having a teachable heart that allows others to impact your life will always take you farther.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

 

Blog edit!

As per my prerogative, I sometimes (rarely) add to the Gems post.  On the rare occasions that I do, it’s typically simply quoting the scripture.  And, I will again, today.  But, I’ll add this ….

The thoughts behind Proverbs 1 is the impetus of this blog.  It isn’t that I consider myself wise, I am not.  But, there are some things which God has deemed proper to teach me.  The same is true with the other frequent commentators here.  I think this is what so enamors me about this blog! 

From Proverbs 1: 20 and on ….

Wisdom’s Rebuke

20 Out in the open wisdom calls aloud,
she raises her voice in the public square;
21 on top of the wall[d] she cries out,
at the city gate she makes her speech:

22 “How long will you who are simple love your simple ways?
How long will mockers delight in mockery
and fools hate knowledge?
23 Repent at my rebuke!
Then I will pour out my thoughts to you,
I will make known to you my teachings.
24 But since you refuse to listen when I call
and no one pays attention when I stretch out my hand,
25 since you disregard all my advice
and do not accept my rebuke,
26 I in turn will laugh when disaster strikes you;
I will mock when calamity overtakes you
27 when calamity overtakes you like a storm,
when disaster sweeps over you like a whirlwind,
when distress and trouble overwhelm you.

28 “Then they will call to me but I will not answer;
they will look for me but will not find me,
29 since they hated knowledge
and did not choose to fear the Lord.
30 Since they would not accept my advice
and spurned my rebuke,
31 they will eat the fruit of their ways
and be filled with the fruit of their schemes.
32 For the waywardness of the simple will kill them,
and the complacency of fools will destroy them;
33 but whoever listens to me will live in safety
and be at ease, without fear of harm.”

Amen, and amen! 

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gems 2015 — August 21 Scripture Selection: Proverbs 1

Leave a Reply

