Gems 2015 — August 17 Scripture Selection: Psalm 143-144

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

August 17 Scripture Selection: Psalm 143-144

Food for Thought: Ps. 143:3, 4, 9-12

“For the enemy has persecuted my soul; he has crushed my life to the ground; he has made me dwell in darkness, like those who have long been dead. Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart within me is distressed (vs. 3, 4).” This is a precise description of the experiences of a person who has been beat up in life by the devil and does not know Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. The oppression, the pain, the darkness, the overwhelming desperation and distress. But thank God, He does not leave us in that condition and without hope!

Further in the chapter, verses 9-12 present a wonderful prayer that, when offered up to the Lord in sincerity and faith, produce an amazing, immediate life-altering change: “Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies; in You I take shelter. Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; Your Spirit is good.
Lead me in the land of uprightness. Revive me, O Lord, for Your name’s sake! For Your righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble. In Your mercy cut off my enemies, and destroy all those who afflict my soul; for I am Your servant.” Jesus is, indeed our Shelter. And, while taking shelter, if you allow God to teach you His ways, you will walk into a marvelous life and remain free from the dark oppression of the enemy. It starts with desiring God’s righteousness in your life and declaring Jesus as your God. When you do that, the enemy is cut off and the soul can no longer be afflicted by him.

Jesus says in John 10:10, “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” He adds in John 10:28, “I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand.” In a conversation with a lady named Martha, Jesus tells her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” She responded to Him, “Yes, Lord, I believe that You are the Christ, the Son of God, who is to come into the world (John 11:25-27).” Believe this, and you, too, will have true life.

Jesus has already made all the necessary arrangements for this freedom from the enemy’s oppression and provided life, righteousness, and victory to everyone who would receive Him. Romans 5:17 explains, “For if by the one man’s offense death reigned through the one, much more those who receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness will reign in life through the One, Jesus Christ,” and continues in verse 21 saying, “so that as sin reigned in death, even so grace might reign through righteousness to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” This is the complete opposite of the description of the afflicted person of Psalm 143, and it is available to anyone who would believe it and receive it today.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gems 2015 — August 17 Scripture Selection: Psalm 143-144

Leave a Reply

