Bonus Gems!!!! June 29 Scripture Selection: Psalm 45-46

Apparently, I lost a day, June 29, to be more precise.  For anyone who became confused about our calendar, I apologize.  We don’t really skip June 29 and have just a June 30 in its place. 

In this particular instance, we can’t very well just skip the Bible reading and message and go on.  So, for completeness, here’s the post I neglected to post.   

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

June 29 Scripture Selection: Psalm 45-46

Food for Thought: Ps. 45:2-5; 13-15

The most fabulous, regal wedding is soon coming! It is not only the wedding of the century, but of all eternity. And the happy couple, arrayed with adornment and raiment of the highest of elegance, is the most celebrated and prominent ever to be.

The majestic Bridegroom is King Jesus Himself. The Word makes several references to Him as the Bridegroom, among which are Mark 2:19 (“And Jesus said to them, ‘Can the friends of the bridegroom fast while the bridegroom is with them? As long as they have the bridegroom with them they cannot fast.’”), and John 3:28-29 (“You yourselves bear me (John the Baptist) witness, that I said, ‘I am not the Christ,’ but, ‘I have been sent before Him.’ He who has the bride is the bridegroom; but the friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly because of the bridegroom’s voice.”).

Who does He marry? The glorious Church that He loved and gave Himself for. She has been prepared for the wedding, sanctified, and cleansed “with the washing of water by the Word that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish (Eph. 5:25-27).” She is the royal daughter who is radiant and gloriously clothed with many robes and who shall enter the royal palace (Ps. 45:13-15).

The culmination of this grand marriage is discussed in Revelation 19:6-9: “… ‘Alleluia! For the Lord God Omnipotent reigns! Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife has made herself ready.’ And to her it was granted to be arrayed in fine linen, clean and bright, for the fine linen is the righteous acts of the saints. …‘Blessed are those who are called to the marriage supper of the Lamb!’”

Jesus wants us all there and in Matthew 25:1-13 advises everyone to be prepared for His unannounced entrance to collect His Bride. The great thing is that all we have to do to be called is to make ready for it by first being sure that we are believing members of His Body, the Church, sanctified, cleansed, holy, and without blemish. Thankfully, that is accomplished with the washing of water by the Word, Who is Jesus. Through believing in Him as Lord and Savior, He cleanses us (I John 1:7). Then, we are able to be clothed in the proper raiment of fine linen, the “righteous acts of the saints” for the wedding, the event of all eternity, and I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bonus Gems!!!! June 29 Scripture Selection: Psalm 45-46

  1. …‘Blessed are those who are called to the marriage supper of the Lamb!’”
    When I was a kid I would say to my Mother, “when is supper going to ready”
    She would say, oh in a little while”. In a little while I would ask again, “when is
    supper going to be ready”. She would say, “I told you in a little while”.
    Later I would ask again and she would break off a little bite of something and say
    “here take this to hold you over ’til supper is ready”.
    In later years while reading about the ‘marriage supper of the Lamb’ it came
    to mind how my Mother gave me something to ‘hold me over’ and I thought,
    this is the same thing our Lord did, He gave me a ‘hold-me-over’ ’til
    Supper is ready.
    Alfred

Leave a Reply

