Gems 2015 — June 20 Scripture Selection: Psalm 27-28

 

June 20 Scripture Selection: Psalm 27-28

Food for Thought: Ps. 27:1-3, 5

As we navigate through our day, dealing with every kind of situation, we, like David, can declare by faith that we will fear no evil, nor any man, because our confidence is in the Lord. God has placed in His Word from the beginning to the end so many assurances of His protection. All we need to do is declare what we know from His Word and rest in it by faith.

In addition to today’s scripture selection, Psalm 23:4, 5 offers wonderful words of confidence in the security that He provides by our faith in Him: “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies…” Similarly, the apostle Paul affirms in II Thessalonians 3:3, “But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one.” Those are powerful words that go to work on our behalf if we will claim them by faith.

The best words of all come from Jesus Himself as He prayed for His followers, those who were living at the time, and those who would through the ages. He said, “I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one.” The Lord prayed protection over you and me! So no matter what we face today, we can proclaim with all certainty that we will fear no evil for He is with us.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gems 2015 — June 20 Scripture Selection: Psalm 27-28

  1. Thank you!
    BTW I am sure that 4star vote was a slip of the finger. If not please say why.
    Alfred

    • suyts says:

      Some people just don’t give out 5 stars …..

      • jsue says:

        I gotto know, James, which article of yours received 4 stars? I missed it and have been looking for it.

      • suyts says:

        Heh! …. Oh, sis ……

        It is this article which received a 4 star “vote”. Actually, I think, now, it has 2 “4 star” votes, rather than the max of 5 stars. You can see this by scrolling up and looking at the star ratings. There have now been 3 votes. It looks to be an average of 4 and 1/3 stars.

        I always try to make sure great isn’t the enemy of good. Considering the readership, here. I’d take the 4 stars every time. Yeh, I want to knock their socks of with every post! I want to show them something which creates an epiphany for them every time I post! But, the fact of the matter is, I can’t for every reader here. Indeed, I can’t for most of the readers here. For the most part, we preach to the choir, both you and I.

        For instance, Alfred doesn’t need us for his walk with Jesus. It helps him and I would suppose it comforts and encourages him in the fact that he knows there are two more brothers and sisters in Christ being about, doing the work, as we can. But, he doesn’t need us. From my take on Alfred, he’s going to walk his walk, regardless if there’s me or you to post these posts. I think Alfred always gives you a “5 star” rating. But, a “4 star” rating is “good”.

        The fact is, if I participated in the star ratings, I would probably rate most of, both yours and mine, with 4 stars. This isn’t because I think this or one of your many other posts are less worthy of “excellent”, but, it would be because it wouldn’t, then, distinguish the posts that do knock the socks off and create an epiphany. While I can’t write to any real “epiphany”, I can tell you that you’ve written some posts which have wowed me with beautiful insight, prose, and faith.

        Sis, for many of the readers, this is old hat. It’s nice, and comfortable, and we wouldn’t trade it for the world, but, it’s familiar.

        It is, rather, that “one”! That one person who didn’t see what you were seeing. That one who recognized, suddenly, what you were writing about,. That one! And, then, you get that one, and that one helps you, or, helps another who we didn’t see, with the insight, prose and faith which you communicated.

        I know you already know all of this. That’s how you roll down there. It’s the same here, just applied a little differently.

        If you ask me, writing is harder than speaking. Writing doesn’t give you the ability to give tone inclinations or facial expressions, or body movements to help express your meaning.

        All that said, it’s all good! 😉

Leave a Reply

