Gems 2015 — May 22 Scripture Selection: Esther 4-6

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

May 22 Scripture Selection: Esther 4-6

Food for Thought: Esth. 4:14

Your life has a divine purpose! God put you on this earth for a very particular reason. Now your responsibility is to seek God’s will and submit to it so that you will eventually see your purpose fulfilled. As you acknowledge Him in all your ways, He will direct your path (Prov. 3:6) and reveal just exactly why you were placed here (though you won’t have the full picture of the impact of your life until you see Him in heaven face to face).

The Lord’s plans for Esther began before the beginning of time, and so began His plans for you. The Lord reveals His manner of establishing and putting in effect His plans far in advance in Jeremiah 1:5 where He told the prophet Jeremiah, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.” This is the way that He does things. King David seemed to have understood this, as well, when he wrote Psalm 139. Notice verses 13-17, with particular attention to verse 16 (in bold): “For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them. How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!”

Mordecai’s words to Queen Esther, “Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” implying that her position in the kingdom was divinely appointed and encouraging her to risk her life for the benefit of all the Jews, seem to prod at us all even today. Your birth was no coincidence, neither is the place you find yourself today. The Lord has a very important assignment for you and me. When you see things in this light, your life takes on a whole new meaning, you see value in your existence, and you reach for your destiny.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gems 2015 — May 22 Scripture Selection: Esther 4-6

  1. suyts says:

    Absolutely, sis! I emboldened your last bit, because I believe it’s a very important message.

    Some of us are just now learning to listen to what God wants us to be.

  2. DirkH says:

    “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;”

    … I was thinking about that quote today while driving… (a long distance) … before reading this post. What a strange coincidence.

  3. jsue says:

    I’m pretty sure it was no “coincidence,” Dirk. The Lord must have a reason for the verse to have come up twice in the same day.

  4. kim2ooo says:

    I’m sure thankful HE didn’t make me a boy.

    Or a liberal leftist

    Or a liberal leftist boy.

  5. Thank you. I am so glad our Great God made me a peasant. And I am thankful also.

Leave a Reply

