Gems 2015 — May 10 Scripture Selection: II Chronicles 19-21

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

May 10 Scripture Selection: II Chronicles 19-21

Food for Thought: II Chron. 20:1-22

When facing a big problem, one of the best indications that your trust is completely in the Lord is your ability to sincerely praise Him and thank Him in advance for the victory. Before ever seeing the results with your human eyes, you know beyond a shadow of doubt that you will be (are) fine and that the enemy will be (is) defeated in the situation. That is precisely the reason why you can rejoice in the Lord as you face the enemy.

David did this often. In the face of danger, he invoked the name of the Lord, calling Him his deliverer in advance. As an example, Psalm 18:1-3 says, “I will love You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies.” He’s already praising the Lord before the manifestation of the defeat of his enemies.

Even if there is a tinge of fear, praising the Lord and thanking Him chases it away, and faith takes its place. Notice David’s words in Psalm 56:1-4, a “Michtam” of when he was captured in Gath: “Be merciful to me, O God, for man would swallow me up; fighting all day he oppresses me. My enemies would hound me all day, for there are many who fight against me, O Most High. Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God (I will praise His word), in God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?” Woven throughout the entire psalm is the declaration by faith “I will not fear,” even though he admits to at times being afraid.

Waiting for the results to unfold before we begin to thank the Lord and praise Him requires no faith. However, praising and thanking the Lord in advance is entirely doable because we walk by faith and not by sight (II Cor. 5:7). And by faith, we can see the victory in the spirit before it actually occurs in the natural. (“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Heb. 11:1).”) By faith we see it, we receive it, and we give thanks for it. Then we witness the natural revelation of God’s mighty hand in our lives.

Digging Deeper (What scriptures can further enhance today’s reading?):

Getting Personal (What has God shown you in today’s reading?):

Confession of Faith (Example: Lord, based on Mat. 1:21 and 23, I understand that Jesus is God, and I receive Him as my personal Lord and Savior.):

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.):

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gems 2015 — May 10 Scripture Selection: II Chronicles 19-21

  1. Latitude says:

    perfect timing….this is exactly what I needed today

    Thank you

  2. Very good, thank you

  3. DirkH says:

    And thanks from me as well. Today I needed this.

Leave a Reply

