Spring Has Sprung!!!! Suyts Slowdown!!!!

image

Today confirmed Spring, in my part of the world.  Things come anew, and things become renewed!  It was 15 deg F this morning, but, later, we got warmer!  Tonight, it will get a few degrees below freezing, but, not much.  I can hardly contain myself! 

I’ve got things to do!  I’ve got things I have to do.  I’ve got stuff, I’ve got things. 

I’ve got a blog.

The thing is, I used to have a blog.  Today, I’ve got something different.  The blog I had was provocative.  It offered nuanced thoughts and before ‘on time’ delivery of information.  When I look back on some of the posts, I’m wowed!!! 

Unfortunately, it isn’t that way, today.  It isn’t that the commentators aren’t provocative or thought inspiring, they are, and, they always will be.  I’m in awe of the readers and commentators of this blog. However, the same thinking behind the awe of the readers and commentators, is the same thought which makes me realize I’m doing a poor job on this blog. 

It isn’t as if I don’t want to, I truly do.  And, I still can ….  except, I’m tired, and it shows.  When I look back at some of the earlier posts I made and compare to the posts I make today, it’s embarrassing.  I can’t stand to make excuses, but, the job I have demands a lot of my time.  For months, I’ve tried to take different approaches, but, none of them change the fact that I’m tired. So, a much more different approach is necessary.  I don’t know what that approach may be.  I’ve got to think about it for a bit. 

But, I do know I’ve got to slow down for a minute.  I’ve half-assed this blog for too long.  So, I’m going to take a break for a few. 

To be sure, I’ll still post the “Gems” series, and I’ll post on some things I think really should be stated.  But, for a couple of weeks or so, I’m going to, just …. well, slow down, recharge my batteries, and move forward.  I will, also, during the days I don’t post, offer an open thread/post thingy. 

I’m just tired.  I hope you guys and gals understand. 

My very best to you and yours,

James ‘Suyts’ Sexton

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Spring Has Sprung!!!! Suyts Slowdown!!!!

  1. Me says:

    Ok then, I’ll go, and make easier for you. Sorry for all the trouble.

    • I. Lou Minotti says:

      You are not an evil person, “Me.” You’re probably a good man so long as you take care of your family, as men do with a good heart. You’re a Christian. Live up to your calling.

      You don’t have to “go” in order to make it easier for anybody. You have to stay and make your opinions known. Otherwise, no one will feel sorry for you.

  2. Jason Calley says:

    Hey James! Go! Go take a break, take a vacation, put your feet up, take a load off, ease on down!

    You have put in a LOT of hours working on this blog. Burn out is a real danger — and while we will miss your presence online, it is important to take some time off or you really will burn out. Come back when you feel ready to.

    Most importantly…. thank you. Seriously, sincerely, THANK YOU! We who have spent some time with your blog are blessed to be able to connect with you, with someone that we would probably (almost certainly) have never been able to know back in the ancient days before the internet. We really do live in an extraordinary time. I am optimistic. The world is perhaps not crowded with people like James Sexton, but there are an encouragingly large number of people who, like yourself, have shared thoughts and time with all of us. That’s a good thing. You have done a good thing. Now take a break.

    Thank you. 🙂

    Jason Calley

  3. Latitude says:

    There’s just too much mess going on…..in the world I mean
    It takes focus….especially a good anger takes focus
    With this much going on….it’s enough to make any sane person “just tired”

    • DirkH says:

      No no, most of it is surface distractions, MADE to consume attention, don’t consume it. The MSM. That’s all flim-flammery. Look at the big moves in the background, it takes months to wire the transaction channels, coordinate the new modus operandi.

      It’s like surface waves vs. undercurrents.

      Try to be like a value investor instead of like a day trader.

      Last big event: MINSK. The consequences ARE playing out and they will continue to unfold over the months.

  4. leftinflagstaff says:

    Rest easy. The world will be here when ya get back.

  5. I. Lou Minotti says:

    You are not, nor have you ever done a “poor job” on this blog, James “Suyts” Sexton. You’re real, and you’re honest, and you’re a Christian man that both loves and speaks truth. Words have meaning, and yours have done nothing less. That’s why I visit daily.

    Are you the greatest writer in the blogosphere or internet history? Perhaps not. But who cares? Everything people read here is about the truth, so what else matters? If nothing else, you are a speaker and relayer of truth. That’s much needed in our day and time.

    Enjoy your time off with your family and your friends. Give your head a rest. “Because in much wisdom there is much grief, and increasing knowledge results in increasing pain” (King Solomon; Ecclesiastes 1:18).

    Our wonderful Lord has given us a magnificent country to view and enjoy and live in, and has soveriengly placed us in it (cf. Acts 17:26). Since you’re located somewhere in the midwest, you and yours have easy access to witness firsthand the beauty He has given us. Enjoy it.

    Here’s a great song to keep banging around in your head as you relish your much-needed vacation from idiots like me that post too much:

    Lord bless you and yours, brother.
    ~Louie

  6. Thank you Sir. thank you
    Alfred

  7. DirkH says:

    I was astonished when you churned out 5 posts a day. Slow it down, I’ll still drop by if you just post one a week, just to see what the others are saying, and what they are finding on the web. We’re a hunter-gatherer tribe here.

    • Lars P. says:

      Exactly. I was also amazed at the number of posts and the effort behind those.
      I would say: just keep cool, relax a bit more and let us know your ideas from time to time to keep the discussion going.

      And I much agree with your post above Dirk, there are many waves at the surface but few, clear and consistent currents deep under which are the most interesting to discover.

      One of my interest is space exploration, and you can see slow development here too, slowly slowly opening the understanding towards electrical influences in space. How many years will it take to unravel?
      I don’t know, but I think Dawn is another step in the right direction:
      http://www.space.com/28732-nasa-dawn-spacecraft-ion-propulsion.html
      And great to see the new ion propulsion technology being used !!!
      And expecting to see soon the new Ceres photos 🙂 !!! And for sure some new surprises.

  8. bruceofnewcastle says:

    James I understand entirely, which is exactly why I don’t have a blog (quite a few people urge me to do one for climate stuff). They are voracious and require feeding endlessly.

    I enjoy Jeanette’s Gems posts, although I comment on her work too seldom. My apology.

    I’ll drop by each day, but my message for you my friend is to enjoy each day that our Lord gives and don’t feel that you need to do anything else. God has provided us this fine planet for our enjoyment although he is sorely disappointed in out disobedience. Fortunately he has forgiven us through His Son.

    I’m using my WordPress account on purpose, which has my lady friend as my gravatar. She’s a kookaburra. This evening I was enjoying myself tossing bits of meat to her chick of this season who is about 3 months old. In a week or two I hope he/she will be eating from my hand. Here is another pic of mom taken recently.

    • I. Lou Minotti says:

      Ditch the bitch you’re living with. Let her find out on her own what living in a goddamn cardboard box under an overpass feels like, before she comes crawling back to you.

      • Bruce of Newcastle says:

        Heh. She’s a sweetie, anyway she’s spoken for. The male isn’t at all friendly, he’ll come no nearer than 5m.

        I like the photo as it lets me sound off against the greens over wind turbines. They have no comeback. Kookaburras are very common and the green propaganda about how feeding wildlife is bad for them is complete rubbish.

        • DirkH says:

          We have a little Green called sod at notrickszone for a few weeks now. He’s a complete moron. I teach him lesson after lesson and in a few months I’ll have him tamed. (I’m faster with lifeforms with a brain).

        • Latitude says:

          Bruce, your kook is great! They are a fun bird, so are the lories….what is the bird with the white breast? magpie, jay, crow? I can’t tell from the pic

        • Bruce of Newcastle says:

          Lat – The pied butcherbirds have the white breast and black head and the grey butcherbirds have a white breast right up to under their beaks. The greys have a field-grey back, which you can’t see.

          I have a pair of each who are tame – the problem is they hate each other. Wild aerial dogfights sometimes happen. Their territories are adjacent and my house is right on the boundary.

  9. gator69 says:

    Enjoy! And get some rest for Christ’s sake, He has more work for us all to do.

    Thanks James, even your B games runs circles around the competition.

    • Jason Calley says:

      Oh, Gator… that Madeline Kahn bit is still one of the funniest things I have ever seen. I have tears in my eyes!

      • gator69 says:

        I miss Madeline, she left us all too soon.

        My dad saw Blazing Saddles about fifteen years after it was released, it had been one of my favorites for over a decade, and I never thought my dad would find it funny as he was a very serious type. He was still chuckling hours after the movie was over.

        I miss him too.

    • cdquarles says:

      I had the opportunity to see Blazing Saddles not long after its original release. I loved it. I used to have a DVD copy that I lost, sadly.

      There is no way Hollywood would do a Blazing Saddles, today, the way Mel Brooks did it (or Spaceballs :P).

      • Jim Masterson says:

        >>
        . . . or Spaceballs
        <<

        I loved President Skroob’s (Mel Brooks) comment after having his head transported on backwards: “Why didn’t somebody tell me my a** was so big?” Who’s going to tell the effective supreme commander that his a** is too big?

        Jim

  10. rg says:

    Nothing better than fishing in SEK in the spring to recharge ones batteries..

  11. Ted G says:

    I will miss you, you point the way to the real news. As others have suggested slow it down,once a week – twice a week, whatever just keep in touch, charge your battery’s. your always warmly welcome in my home.

  12. omanuel says:

    Perhaps the intentions on both sides of the AGW debate were honorablel, “the road to hell is paved with . . .”

    CHAOS and FEAR in AUG-SEPT 1945 frightened Good, Honorable People into

    1. Forming the UN in OCT 1945, and
    2. Forbidding public knowledge of the energy that had destroyed Hiroshima:

    Click to access CHAOS_and_FEAR.pdf

    Those Good, Honorable People” may not have intended to isolate society from the reality (truth, God) of creation, but that is exactly what happened!

    Click to access Sequel.pdf

  13. suyts says:

    Thank you all for your encouragement. I’ll be back and up to snuff in no time!

  14. I. Lou Minotti says:

    The sooner the better.

  15. cdquarles says:

    Speaking of spring, some might know (and others not know) that it has been relatively cold here in my part of the Southeastern US. Typically we have daffodils blooming in January and the cherries in mid to late February. I’ve not seen any daffodils this year (they bloomed late last year) and the cherries just started budding and blooming over this past weekend. Spring has Sprung, baby :).

Leave a comment