Gems on the Sword — Just What IS the Fear of the Lord? — February 2

image

Guest post by Jeanette Andrade

Just What IS the Fear of the Lord? February 2

Scripture Selection: Psalm 33:18-22; Prov. 2:1-5; 2 Corinthians 7:1

Food for Thought: Ps. 33:18

Usually, it’s pretty obvious who does not fear the Lord. Those who fear (reverence) the Lord know Him and seek to please Him, living according to the Word. The ones who live life any ol’ way, without any regard to what pleases Him and yet claim to fear the Lord, are only deceiving themselves. You can’t have it both ways!

There’s another reason why it is usually obvious who does not fear the Lord: The eye of the Lord is on the ones who fear Him and put their hope in Him. He protects them and delivers them out of trouble. He is their help, shield, and provider. The ones who don’t are on their own. They don’t live in the benefits of trusting in His name. Sadly, they don’t acknowledge His greatness and live accordingly.

Getting to know Him is key, and there’s only one way to go about it: receive His Word and hide it in your heart. Incline your ear to its wisdom, and apply your heart to understanding. Desire it more than any earthly treasures, and live it. THEN you will understand the fear of the Lord and find knowledge of God.

Digging Deeper: __________________________________________________________________

Getting Personal: __________________________________________________________________

Confession of Faith: __________________________________________________________________

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.): ___________________________________________________________________

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gems on the Sword — Just What IS the Fear of the Lord? — February 2

  1. suyts says:

    I like the Proverbs passage……

    2 My son, if thou wilt receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee;

    2 So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding;

    3 Yea, if thou criest after knowledge, and liftest up thy voice for understanding;

    4 If thou seekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures;

    5 Then shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.

  2. dan says:

    …on the other hand : those He loves, He tests to perfect them(Heb12:6,James 1:12)
    but then that’s just seems to be my personal experience :)
    of course,fearing discipline is a great incentive for slow learners and contrarians

    • suyts says:

      Indeed Dan. Proverbs 25:4 Take away the dross from the silver, and there shall come forth a vessel for the finer.

      I’m still in the process of being refined. My hard-headedness sometimes causes more refinement than what I’d like. :)

  3. Alfred Alexander says:

    Thank you for sharing The Word
    Alfred

  4. kim2ooo says:

    Mrs.A,

    This always confused me when I was little. :)

    I would hear “Fear the Lord” and “Jesus Loves you / me”.
    It was quite confusing to me, at the time.

    • J Sue says:

      Yeah, it confuses many people. I guess words are not adequate to express the deepest meaning of the fear of the Lord. All I know is that His “awesomeness” is far beyond my pea brain’s capabilities, so I live reverencing Him and acknowledging that He is greater than my comprehension. I don’t want to leave anything to my human understanding because that will not be enough, yet at the same time, I try to always keep in the forefront of my mind that He is love, so I can trust Him. Thanks for bringing up your comments.

Leave a Reply

