GEMS on the SWORD

Guest Post by Jeanette Andrade

An Already Defeated Enemy January 3

Scripture Selection: Psalm 3:1-8; Proverbs 3:33-35; Colossians 2:15

Food for Thought (meditate on this): Psalm 3:3

For several years I worked in a place full of unbelievers, many of whom seemed to turn against me as soon as I declared myself a Christian and not “one of them.” The difference between light and darkness was quite stark. Though I was a dedicated, good employee with high professional standards,—if I dare say so myself—I often felt treated as a second-class citizen, and the atmosphere was many times less than pleasant.

Many of my friends advised me to leave. I even begged the Lord to take me out of there, but I told him I would stay until He said to go; NOT because the enemy harassed me. I did not want the enemy to dictate where I would work. So I stayed and learned a lot about walking victoriously in love, patience, and forgiveness. I learned to not fear, that God would take care of me, and that the enemy had already lost. Jesus made a show of him publicly long ago.

When I finally did leave, my relationships with the co-workers were amicable. They even gave me a generous going-away party. God truly is my “glory and the lifter of my head,” even under tough situations.

Digging Deeper: __________________________________________________________________

Getting Personal: __________________________________________________________________

Confession of Faith: __________________________________________________________________

Important Events on This Day (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.): __________________________________________________________________

This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GEMS on the SWORD

  1. HankH says:

    This was nice to wake up to for a Saturday morning read.

  2. leftinbrooklyn says:

    So, in the end, your co-workers became more ‘Christian-like’, and more ‘American-like.’ Whether they realized it or not.

Leave a Reply

